ACTRA Ottawa About UsGoverernanceAdvocacyFor ProducersWhat's Shooting

Become A Member
Outreach & Education
Residuals & Use Fees
Retirement & Health Benefits
Pay Dues Online
Members Marketplace
Health & Safety

John Wardlow and Joy Coghill to Receive Top Honours at the 5th Annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards Gala

The 5th annual UBCP/ACTRA awards gala will honour two of Canada’s top talent with distinguished lifetime achievement awards. John Wardlow will be presented with the John Juliani Award of Excellence, and Joy Coghill will receive the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award, at the awards gala on November 12th.

The John Juliani Award of Excellence is presented each year to a performer for achievement as a performing artist and distinguished contribution to the film and television industry. The Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award is presented to a UBCP/ACTRA member whose work as a performer and/or beyond, embodies the type of accomplishments that advance the status of women in our society and encourage the continued growth and diversification of opportunities for women. Both John Wardlow and Joy Coghill will be present at the UBCP/ACTRA awards to receive this top honour.

“We are pleased to honour such illustrious and accomplished people as John Wardlow and Joy Coghill at this year’s annual awards gala,” said Alvin Sanders, President of UBCP/ACTRA. “They each have a rich and diverse history that has helped to shape our industry into the vibrant and vital one it is today.”

John Juliani Award of Excellence

John Wardlow grew up in the lower mainland and in 1970 began his long career in the theatrical, television and motion picture industries.  John co-founded Stunts Canada with his cousin, Keith Wardlow and Alex Green. They were among the first stunt performers in Canada, pioneering what is now a booming industry.

John has worked as an Assistant Director, Location Manager and Unit/Production Manager for feature films, TV movies,series and commercials, but mostly he worked as an Actor, Stunt Performer and Stunt Coordinator with over 80 stunt credits to his name.  He still works occasionally as a stunt actor and stunt performer, most recently in Motive as a stunt double.

Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award

Joy Coghill was born in 1926 in Findlater, Saskatchewan, and her extensive career includes countless credits as a performer, director, playwright and teacher.

She was the first female Artistic Director of the Playhouse and she is the recipient of a Canadian Governor General’s Performing Arts Award and she is a Member of the Order of Canada for her services to theatre arts in Canada. She is the recipient of four Jessie Awards, the John Juliani Award of Excellence and a Herbert Whittaker Critic’s Award. She holds Honorary Doctorates from both Simon Fraser University and the University of British Columbia. Joy currently lives in the Performing Arts Lodge (PAL) Vancouver, which she co-founded.


NOTE TO PRESS:A red carpet will precede the Awards Gala, starting at 4:30 PM (all media must be set up by 4:15 PM.) Media must RSVP to rhiannon@jivecommunications.ca to secure a spot on the carpet. Interviews and photos are available.

The UBCP/ACTRA Awards will be held on Saturday, November 12th at the Vancouver Playhouse with over 600 industry professionals including UBCP/ACTRA members, press and politicians in attendance.

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema,Television and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. ACTRA represents the interests of 22,000 members across Canada – the foundation of Canada’s highly acclaimed professional performing community.
– 30 –

For more information: Alison Stewart,
UBCP/ACTRA Communications Office,
604.689.0727 ext. 2251




Privacy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map