ACTRA Ottawa About UsGoverernanceAdvocacyFor ProducersWhat's Shooting

Become A Member
Outreach & Education
Residuals & Use Fees
Retirement & Health Benefits
Pay Dues Online
Members Marketplace
Health & Safety

Jacob Tremblay, Camille Sullivan Among Winners at 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards

VANCOUVER, B.C. (November 12, 2016) – The 5th annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards took place this evening honouring five members for their work in the creative industries over the past year. With 32 nominees, winners were announced in the following categories:

Best Actor – Aleks Paunovic for his role in Numb

Best Actress – Camille Sullivan for her role in The Birdwatcher

Best Emerging Performer – Jacob Tremblay for his role in Room

Best Voice – Lee Tockar for his performance in Slug

Best Stunt  – Adrien Hein for his performance in Arrow

The John Juliani Award of Excellence was presented to John Wardlow, and the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award was presented to Joy Coghill.

Photos from the awards gala are available by emailing rhiannon@jivecommunications.ca

The Awards gala evening was hosted by Lochlyn Munro and the live show was produced by Jay Ono.

“What a fantastic evening” said Alvin Sanders, President, UBCP/ACTRA. “Our performers are amongst the best in the world and each of the 32 nominees should be extremely proud of their dedication to their craft and the performances they have shared with us. Everyone deserves a big congratulations!”

Highlights of the evening include:

  • A Meatloaf song parody about the recent CRTC decision called “6 out of 10 ain’t bad”
  • Joy Coghill, Lorna Gale Women of Distinction Award winner, recounted memories from her long, successful career

On hand were some of Vancouver’s top performers including Keegan Connor Tracy, Ty Olsson, Eli Goree, Ben Ratner, Crystal Lowe, Gabrielle Rose, Julia Benson and Peter Benson. ACTRA National President, Ferne Downey, and National Executive Director, Stephen Waddell, joined in the celebration, alongside ACTRA Toronto President, David Sparrow, and Toronto Executive Director, Sue Milling.

Sponsors of the awards show included AFBS, ACTRA National and ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society, SAG/AFTRA, Breakdown Services, Casting Workbook, Canadian Media Producers Association (B.C. Branch), D’Alessio Law Group, Finalé Post, Kestrel Workplace Legal Counsel LLP, and IATSE 669.

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. ACTRA represents the interests of 22,000 members across Canada – the foundation of Canada’s highly acclaimed professional performing community.

– 30 –

For more information:

Alison Stewart
Communications Officer
604.689.0727 ext. 2251

Privacy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map