UBCP/ACTRA About UsGoverernanceAdvocacyFor ProducersWhat's Shooting

Become A Member
Outreach & Education
Residuals & Use Fees
Retirement & Health Benefits
Pay Dues Online
Members Marketplace
Health & Safety
Resources for Performers

UBCP/ACTRA Awards 2017 – Winners announced

Adrian Holmes, Tammy Gillis Among Winners

at 2017 UBCP/ACTRA Awards

VANCOUVER, B.C. (November 18, 2017) – The 6th annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards took place this evening honouring five members for their work in the creative industries over the past year. With 27 nominees, winners were announced in the following categories:

Best Actor – Adrian Holmes for his role in 19-2

Best Actress – Tammy Gillis for her role in Menorca

Best Emerging Performer – Adam DiMarco for his role in Marrying the Family

Best Voice – Rebecca Husain for her performance in Beat Bugs

Best Stunt  – Simon Burnett, Leif Havdale, Corry Glass, and Jon Kralt for their performances in Supergirl

The Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award was presented to Veena Sood.

The Awards gala was hosted by Rukiya Bernard and the live show was produced by Jay Ono.

“It was another fantastic evening celebrating BC’s exceptional talent,” said Alvin Sanders, President, UBCP/ACTRA. “BC’s film industry is the best it’s ever been right now. We’re attracting internationally acclaimed productions, which is a testament to the outstanding work of our performers and 27 nominees. Each nominee and winner should be extremely proud of their performances and dedication to their craft.”

On hand were some of Vancouver’s top performers including Patrick Gallagher, Dan Payne, Gabrielle Miller, Peter and Julia Benson, Geoff Gustafson, Hillary Jardine, Andrea Brooks, Michael Eklund, Ona Grauer, Ali Liebert, Juan Riedinger, Jacqueline and Joyce Robbins, Gabrielle Rose, Patrick Sabongui, Sharon Taylor, April Telek, and Mauymi Yoshida. Also in attendance were Rufus Sewell from The Man in the High Castle and Marie Avgeropoulos from The 100.

Sponsors of the awards show included AFBS, ACTRA National and ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society, Canadian Media Producers Association (B.C. Branch), Breakdown Services, Casting Workbook, D’Alessio Law Group, Finalé Post, ICG 669, iA Financial Group, Koskie Glavin Gordon, New Image College, ACFC West, The Characters Talent Agency, Director’s Guild of Canada British Columbia, Entertainment Partners Canada, IATSE 891, Lighthouse Pictures, Lucas Talent Inc. Marciano, Primelight, RED Management, Stunts Canada, Sappho New Paradigm, William F. White International Inc., Wolrige Mahon, and Woodhouse & Associates Inc.

Twitter: @UPCP_ACTRA

Facebook: /UBCP.ACTRA

Photos from the awards show

National News
To view all ACTRA National Press releases please click here
Local News
2020 Archives
2019 Archives
2018 Archives
2017 Archives
2016 Archives
2015 Archives
2014 Archives
2013 Archives
2012 Archives
Privacy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map